Carter County Commission - Committees & Boards 2015-2016

Departments & Services



Carter County Commission Chairman

Leon Humphrey


County Mayor

Leon Humphrey


Budget; Nominating; Legal; Industry; Reapportionment; Capital; Projects (Capital Projects to include County Mayor and Director of Schools)

Buford Peters

Nancy Brown

Ronnie Trivett, Chairman Nominating

L.C. Tester

Ross Garland

John Lewis

Sonja Culler, Chairman Budget

Robert Carroll


Rules & By-Laws; Building & Grounds; Law Enforcement; Health & Welfare; Recreation; Judicial

Willie Campbell

Al Meehan

Brad Johnson

Isaiah Grindstaff, Chairman Law Enforcement

Tim Holdren, Chairman Health & Welfare

Randal Jenkins, Chairman Rules & By-Laws

Ray Lyons, Chairman Building & Grounds

Cody McQueen


Education; Utilities; Cable; Highway; Special Investigations; Solid Waste/Landfill

Robert Acuff

Mike Hill, Chairman Highway

Charles Von Cannon, Chairman Education

Danny Ward

Bobbie Dietz, Chairman Solid Waste / Landfill

Larry "Doc" Miller

Scott Simerly

Robert Gobble


Work Release / Grievence

Sheriff Appointment

Roger Deal

Joe Lunceford

Russell Kyte


Rocky Croy

Robbie Fritts


Beer Board

(1 Year appointment, October TCA 1-15-73, County Commission Appointment)

Robert Acuff

Nancy Brown

Al Meehan

Brad Johnson

Bobbie Dietz

Randall Jenkins


Industrial Development Board

(Appointed by County Commission, Staggered 2, 4, 6 yr terms)

Phil Issacs, Chairman - 2014

Bill Cline, Vice Chair - 2014

Carol Chase, Sec - 2018

Ken Kelly - 2014

Jimmy Street - 2018

Chris Guy - 2016

Judy Veeneman - 2018

Joe LaPorte - 2016

James Barker - 2016


Financial Management

Leon Humphrey, County Mayor

Dr. Kevin Ward, Director of Schools

Roger Colbaugh, Highway Superintendent

Bobbie Dietz

Charles Von Cannon

Danny Ward

Ray Lyons, Chairman


Carter County Board of Education

Kevin Ward, Director of Education - June 2016

Rusty Barnett, Chairman

Ronnie McAmis

Tony Garland

Craig Davis

Ladonna Boone

Steven Hyder

David Buck

Kelly Crain


Elizabethton - Carter County Library Board

(Board Appt., Commission Confirmation 3 Year Term)

Richard Barker, Chairman - 2016

Ruth Ritchie - 2015

Ed Speer - 2017

Dan Winters, Vice Chair - 2015

Julie Bowers - 2016

Alta Barwick, Secretary - 2016

Pat Hicks - 2017

John Large, Jr. - 2017

Regional Library Board Member

John Tolejko - 2015


Election Commission

Doug Buckles, Chairman - 2015

Paul Souder, Vice Chair - 2015

Buddy Whitehead, Member - 2015

Wayne Smith, Secretary - 2015

Millard M. Garland, Member - 2015


Carter County Board of Health

(Apr 4 yr term, County Commission Confirmation, April 2016)

Dr. Jerry Gastineau, Chairman

Dr. Andrew Stephen May

Ms. Caroline Hurt, Director, Health Dept.

Leon Humphrey, County Mayor

Dr. David Kirschke

Maureen Burniston, R.N.

Dr. Douglas Cole, DDS

Mr. Larry Profitt, DPh

Kevin Ward, Director of Schools

Jerome Kitchens, City of Elizabethton

Tim Holdren, Carter County Commission Liaison


Carter County Emergency 911 Board of Directors

(T.C.A. 7-86-105, Appointment by County Mayor, Confirmation by County Commission)

Mike Shouse, Chairman - 2016

Gary Smith, EMA Director - 2018

Dexter Lunceford, Sheriff - 2018

Kelly Geagley, City - 2015

Melanie Stanton - 2018

Barry Carrier, Fire Assoc. - 2016

Terry Arnold, R. Squad - 2018

Steve Lowe, At Large - 2016

Greg Workman, Eliz Chief Police - 2017


Carter County Parks & Recreation Board

(Appointment by the County Mayor; Confirmation by the County Commission)

Leon Humphrey, County Mayor

William Birchfield

Eric Anderson

Charles Dykes

Royal Smythe

Kenneth Gough

J.R. Campbell

Charlie Mattioli

James Hughes

Randall Jenkins, County Liaison


Audit Committee

(County Mayor Appointment, 2 or 4 yr term, County Commission Confirmation)

David Wortman, Chairman - Apr 2017

Margaret Moses - Apr 2015

Travis Holly - Apr 2017

Margaret Pate - Apr 2015


Vice Chairman

Buford Peters


County Attorney

(Term Sept 1, 2014 - Aug 31, 2016)

Josh Hardin

Election April Term 2016


County Historian

(County Commission Appointment)

Donald Scott Bowers


Carter County Tomorrow Development Board

Leon Humphrey, County Mayor

Danny Ward, (2 Members 1 yr term)

Sonja Culler


Civil Service Board

(County Mayor Appoint Chairman, Sheriff Appoint Personnel, Commission Confirmation, 3 Year Term Oct TCA 8-8-404)

Jim Whaley - 2017

John D. Snyder - 2015

Brad Johnson - 2017


County Coroner

(2 Year Term)

Benny Colbaugh - Jan 2016


Equalization Board

(2 Year Term, Elected even years TCA 67-1-401)

To Be Elected 2016

Debbie Sams

Jerry Bowers - May 2016

Barbara Hyder

Terry Montgomery


Judicial Commissioners

(Appointment by County Commission, Terms staggered, 4 year term)

Mark Little - Oct 2017

Thomas Pleasant - Oct 2016

Shannon Morton - July 2019

Mike Peters - Aug 2015


Planning Commission

(Commission Appointment, 4 yr term)

Leon Humphrey, CC Commission Chairman

Steve Pierce - April 2017

Ralph Watson - April 2018

Jerry Pearman, Chairman - April 2015

Jerry Smith - April 2018

Jamie Hughes - May 2018

Mary Ann Patton - April 2018

Randall Jenkins - Oct 2018

Ken Arney - April 2016

Ray Lyons - Oct 2018

Sonja Culler - April 2018

Robert Carroll - Oct 2018


Records Commission

(County Mayor Appointment, County Commission Confirmation)

Dr. Margaret Houghland, Genealogist

Jodi Bristol, Register of Deeds

Stacey Street, Judge

Cody McQueen, Commissioner

Ronnie Trivett, Commissioner

Scott Bowers, Historian

Patsy Lewis, County Clerk Designee


Accident Review Board, ADA Grievence Board, ADA Board

Gary Smith, ADA / Title VI Coordinator

Leon Humphrey, County Mayor

Sheriff's Dept. Representative

Phillip Nave, School Dept

Highway Dept. Representative


Municipal Solid Waste BD

(County Mayor Appointment, County Commission Confirmation, 6 yr term TCA 68-211-813)

Benny Lyons - Nov 2017


Agriculture Committee

(2 yr. Term)

Charlie Von Cannon - Oct 2017

Ross Garland - Oct 2017

Larry Nave - Feb 2017

Shirley Buckles - Oct 2015

Dawn Winters - Feb 2017

Ronnie Hazelwood - Jan 2016

Randall Jenkins - Feb 2017


Soil Conservation Board

(3 yr term, Elected Apr)

John Hardin - 2014 - State Appointed

Larry Crumley - 2015 - State Appointed

Bill Birchfield - 2016 - Re-appointed

Gereel Cable - 2016 - Re-appointed


Board of Zoning Appeals

(Commission Election, 4 yr. Term October T.C.A. 13-7-106)

Jeff Treadway - 2017

Brad Johnson - 2015

William Birchfield - 2018

L.C. Tester - 2015

David Sandora - 2016


East TN Railroad Authority

(3 yr term, Dec 2015)

Skip Oldham, W. County, Chairman

Charles Von Cannon, Carter County

Leon Humphrey, Carter County Mayor

Curt Alexander, Eliz City Appointment

Jerome Kitchens, Eliz City Manager

Ralph Van Brocklin, Johnson City Mayor

Stephen Darden, Johnson City Designee

Dan Eldridge, Washington County Mayor


Animal Shelter Advisory Board

(7 members, Sept 2014, 2 yr term, County Mayor Appointment, County Commission Confirmation)

Mike Barnett, Chairman

Bob White, Vice Chairman

April Jones, Animal Shelter Director

Leon Humphrey, County Designee

Cody McQueen, County Designee

Sam Shipley, City Designee

Wayne "Red" Buckles, City Designee

John Bland, Friends of Animal Shelter Rep


Watauga River Regional Water Authority

Board of Directors Private Act

Jack Buckles, North Utility, Chairman

A.E. Gentry, Treasurer, Siam Utility

Jeff Chambers, South Eliz Utility

Bryon Trantham, Executive Director

Leon Humphrey, County Mayor

Curt Alexander, City Mayor


Site Powered by Star Technology Group | © 2011 Carter County, Tennessee USA