HomeLatest NewsMiller appointed to represent county’s 8th District

Miller appointed to represent county’s 8th District

Newly appointed County Commissioner David Miller is sworn into office by Carter County Clerk Mary Gouge.

Members of the Carter County Commission appointed David Miller to fill the vacancy created earlier this year by the death of former Commissioner Rick Richardson.

Miller was one of four applicants seeking the vacant seat to represent the county’s 8th District. The other applicants were Cody McQueen, Jeff Guinn, and Donnie Graham. During the Commission meeting on June 17 the applicants who were in attendance were given the opportunity to address the full Commission.

After the first round of voting, the field was narrowed to the two applicants receiving the most votes – Miller and Guinn. In the second round of voting Miller received 14 votes while Guinn garnered 8.

Following the vote, Miller was sworn into office by County Clerk Mary Gouge and took his seat on the Commission. Miller joins Commissioners Kelly Collins and Robin McKamey in representing the 8th District, which includes the High School and Harold McCormick Precincts. In addition to serving on the County Commission, Miller will serve on the following committees: Buildings & Grounds, Health & Welfare, Rules & Bylaws, and Law Enforcement.

Miller will serve on the Commission through August 2020. Under state law, when a commission seat is vacated, the full Commission appoints a replacement to fill the vacancy until the next general county election. Richardson was elected to the Commission in August 2018 and his term would have expired in August 2022. The next county general election is slated for August 2020. Miller will serve on the Commission through that time and then the winner of the August 2020 election will serve the remaining two years of Richardson’s original term.